DUI Attorney Medford Video

DUI Attorney Medford, Oregon.
Larry Workman - Medford DUI Attorney:

CASE DISPOSITIONS

Review our case dispositions. See what we have done for other clients who have been charged with cases similar to yours.

Review our case log now>>

COMMONLY ASKED QUESTIONS

DUI Attorney Medford – 10 day rule

WARNING! Your license is at risk from the moment you are arrested for drunk driving. In fact, you could end up with a suspended license for an extended period of time. DUI cases vary state to state. Call Larry Workman now to find out how you can save your license.

Oregon has a 10-day rule for DUI cases “if you are arrested for drunk driving”.

So, what is the 10-day rule all about?

When you are arrested for drunk driving, it usually triggers two cases. The first is a criminal case. Punishments for a criminal conviction in DUI cases can include fines, jail time, community service, alcohol education classes, an ignition interlock device being ordered into your car, your car insurance going up, and more. The second case is the Department of Motor Vehicles case, where your states driver’s license authority is trying to take away your driver’s license. A DUI Attorney Larry Workman can give you the information you are looking for.

The so-called 10-day rule refers to the amount of time that you have to request a hearing to save your license after being arrested for drunk driving. Oregon alows you/your dui attorney 10 days to make this request. DUI attorney Larry Workman will be able to show you how to do this properly and could help you save your license from being suspended.

The amount of time your license will be suspended, and the ability to obtain a “hardship” or restricted license will vary, depending on whether this is a first-offense or multiple-offense DUI, and whether a chemical test was given or whether it is a “refusal” case. If you refused to take your chemical test, you will be penalized. The amount of time you may lose your license varies.

REMEMBER: In Oregon, when you are arrested for drunk driving, you only have a very short amount of time to request a hearing with the DMV. If you don’t make this request in a timely manner, you will lose your license. That means you will not be able to drive to work, to dinner, to pick up your kids, wherever. It is possible to keep your license in Oregon if you make this request on time (and you win the hearing). Then you will have a valid license until your case begins with the DMV. In addition, a judge in your criminal case can also take away your license as part of your penalty. DUI cases are serious. This is why it is so important to talk to a skilled DUI lawyer about your particular case right away.

 

Contact DUI Attorney Medford – Larry B. Workman at 541-858-8171 to help preserve your rights, just because you were arrested doesn’t mean you are guilty.